Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /nfs/c12/h04/mnt/223320/domains/digitalgabe.com/html/wp-includes/pomo/plural-forms.php on line 210

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /nfs/c12/h04/mnt/223320/domains/digitalgabe.com/html/wp-includes/pomo/plural-forms.php:210) in /nfs/c12/h04/mnt/223320/domains/digitalgabe.com/html/wp-includes/feed-rss2.php on line 8
Streaming – Digital Gabe https://digitalgabe.com Cutting Edge Commentary On All Things Media Thu, 23 Jan 2020 23:12:12 +0000 en hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.6 143647575 Amazon Music Subs Surge (Sort Of) https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/amazon-music-subs-surge-sort-of/ https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/amazon-music-subs-surge-sort-of/#respond Thu, 23 Jan 2020 13:12:02 +0000 http://digitalgabe.com/?p=4592 Yesterday Amazon Music made a splashy announcement about 55M worldwide subscribers.  But there are some important details about this number to keep in mind.]]> https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/amazon-music-subs-surge-sort-of/feed/ 0 4592 Nielsen’s Music Report Card https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/nielsens-music-report-card/ https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/nielsens-music-report-card/#respond Sun, 12 Jan 2020 16:07:13 +0000 http://digitalgabe.com/?p=4562 Nielsen's annual Music Report gives us a sense of just how much streaming is impacting music consumption in the US. Let's go inside the numbers . . .]]> https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/nielsens-music-report-card/feed/ 0 4562 Billboard Adds Digital Video To Chart Weighting https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/billboard-adds-digital-video-to-its-chart-weighting/ https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/billboard-adds-digital-video-to-its-chart-weighting/#respond Tue, 17 Dec 2019 13:01:28 +0000 http://digitalgabe.com/?p=4556 With the inclusion of video plays, streaming takes an even bigger seat at the hit maker table.  What does this mean for the music industry?]]> https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/billboard-adds-digital-video-to-its-chart-weighting/feed/ 0 4556 Is Spotify’s New Ad Unit Actually Payola? https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/is-spotifys-new-ad-unit-actually-payola/ https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/is-spotifys-new-ad-unit-actually-payola/#respond Tue, 10 Dec 2019 12:45:22 +0000 http://digitalgabe.com/?p=4542 Spotify’s Marquee products allows labels to buy ads to drive plays.  Is this just a digital version of Payola?]]> https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/is-spotifys-new-ad-unit-actually-payola/feed/ 0 4542 Amazon Music Expands Free Listening Tier https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/amazon-music-expands-free-listening-tier/ https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/amazon-music-expands-free-listening-tier/#respond Tue, 19 Nov 2019 12:42:10 +0000 http://digitalgabe.com/?p=4516 The subscription-less Amazon Music tier is now available on more devices than ever . . . get ready for more digital audio ad sales.]]> https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/amazon-music-expands-free-listening-tier/feed/ 0 4516 Judgement Day For Netflix https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/judgement-day-for-netflix/ https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/judgement-day-for-netflix/#respond Tue, 12 Nov 2019 11:57:20 +0000 http://digitalgabe.com/?p=4498 Today Disney+ officially launches . . . does this signal the beginning of the end for Netflix, the reigning king of video streaming?]]> https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/judgement-day-for-netflix/feed/ 0 4498 Apple TV+ Debuts With A Whimper https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/apple-tv-debuts-with-a-whimper/ https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/apple-tv-debuts-with-a-whimper/#respond Mon, 04 Nov 2019 13:20:25 +0000 http://digitalgabe.com/?p=4487 As it turns out making compelling original TV content is hard . . . which is a lesson Apple is learning right now.]]> https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/apple-tv-debuts-with-a-whimper/feed/ 0 4487 Spotify Q3 Earnings Roundup https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/spotify-q3-earnings-roundup/ https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/spotify-q3-earnings-roundup/#respond Tue, 29 Oct 2019 11:08:16 +0000 http://digitalgabe.com/?p=4477 Yesterday Spotify announced higher than expected earnings and subscriber growth . . . let’s go inside the numbers.]]> https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/spotify-q3-earnings-roundup/feed/ 0 4477 A Tale Of Two Streamers https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/a-tale-of-two-streamers/ https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/a-tale-of-two-streamers/#respond Tue, 22 Oct 2019 11:20:07 +0000 http://digitalgabe.com/?p=4464 There’s a new research piece out highlighting the surprisingly large difference between Pandora’s and Spotify’s audience profiles.  Let’s go inside the numbers . . .]]> https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/a-tale-of-two-streamers/feed/ 0 4464 Is Apple About To Bundle Streaming? https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/is-apple-about-to-bundle-streaming/ https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/is-apple-about-to-bundle-streaming/#respond Tue, 08 Oct 2019 23:40:07 +0000 http://digitalgabe.com/?p=4418 It looks like Apple is going to bundle it’s streaming services together.  Here’s what that might look like . . . ]]> https://digitalgabe.com/streaming/is-apple-about-to-bundle-streaming/feed/ 0 4418